Open Search -

Like us on Facebook

Course Atlas -

Course Atlas

Please consider supporting our efforts.


Airmyn Park Golf Club, Goole, Yorkshire.

Founded in 1911.

In 1914 the joint secretaries were J Fanbert and H T Ranson, Carlisle St, Goole. The professional was T Nolan. A 9-hole course with a membership of 110. There was no entry fee. Subs for gents were £3/3/0 and ladies £1/1/0. Visitors’ fees were 1/- a day. Sunday play was not allowed. Station at Goole was  1½ miles away.

From 1924 to the clubs final appearance in 1940 it was listed as Goole Golf Club Ltd, Airmyn Park (Grid Reference SE 730 246). The secretary was A Townsend, 57 Marshfield Rd, Goole, telephone 12 and the greenkeeper F Laking. There was a membership of 180 which had fallen to 140 by closure. Visitors’ fees were 2/6 a day.

Below is the result of a match played against Pontefract Golf Club on Saturday 4th June 1925 at Airmyn Park. The home side ran out easy winners in both singles (9 to 1) and foursomes (5 to 1) matches. 

Goole Golf Club   Pontefract Golf Club  
A Blyth 1 W P Barker 0
E L Harrap (half) 0 Dr Cairns (half) 0
F Turner 1 F Chappell 0
E L Davies 1 A E Hartley 0
R G Bickerton 1 W Fearnley 0
Dr A M Erskine 1 H Simpkins 0
A Weatherall 0 J R Fisher 1
S Bickerton 1 P Bagley 0
H Clarkson 1 H Ward 0
F Greenacre (half) 0 G H King (half) 0
N G Silvester 1 E H Sweeting 0
T McCullock 1 G Hammant 0
  9   1

It was stated at the annual meeting in April 1935 that the club had a successful year financially. However, an appeal was made by the secretary and retiring captain for an increase in membership numbers. Mr A Townend said the season’s competitions had created a great deal of interest. Green fees were slightly down on last year. Improvements had been made to the course which included the addition of three new tees. The retiring captain, Mr F J Greenacre thanked the members and stressed the need for an increased membership. Mr John T Bennett was elected the new captain, Mr P H Earnshaw was elected treasurer and Mr G S Wilson was elected assistant secretary to Mr Townend. The committee members were; A Bowrie, E Davies, L A Coxon, J Trenholme, F Thompson and F J Greenacre. 

A successful year was reported at the annual meeting of the Goole club on Monday 11th April 1938. The retiring captain, Mr J Trenholme, presided, and the secretary, Mr A Townend said that although the season  had started badly, it ended well, club events being held and well suppported until mid October. Mr W N Bowie won both the club trophy and captain’s prize, Mr A E Stringer won the juvenile section trophy. Mr John E Timm was elected captain, Mr M Townend was re-elected secretary with Mr N Wallis as assistant secretary and Mr P H Earnshaw, treasurer. The committee as follows; F Thompson, N G Silvester, J Trenholme, A Fox, F J Greenacre, J T Bennett, W N Bowie and E Davies.

The draw for the second round of the Goole Golf Club captain’s prize in June 1938, as follows;

E Davies v A Bowie, F Underhill v E L Harrap, F Brigham v D R Whittington, J Trenholme or G Davies v J Huson, N E Walker v S Gunnill, A Perason v H Garforth, F Cole v N Wallis, J W C Temple v N G Silvester. 

In July 1938 the draw for the third round of the Captain’s Cup was made, as follows; A Bowie v F Underhill, D R Whiitington v J Huson, S Gunnill v A Pearson, N Wallis v J W C Temple. Also the draw for the Goole Club trophy; F Cole v H Garforth, N Wallis v N G Silvester or A Fox.

Playing in a medal competition on Saturday 6th August 1938 C K Hailey (handicap 18) holed is tee shot at the 200 yard fifth hole. The last hole in one on the course was recorded in 1933.

On Saturday August 13th 1938 Goole beat Scunthorpe 7 – 0 in a foursomes match at Goole, result below.

Goole Golf Club   Scunthorpe Golf Club  
A Bowie & N Wallis 1 H Graves & G Robertshaw 0
J Huson & J T Bennett 1 M Robertshaw & E Taylor 0
N G Silvester & H Garforth 1 A Greaves & T Mumby 0
H Monkman & A Pearson 1 G Robinson & N Wales 0
E Davies & J E Timm 1 P Carton & G Clark 0
F Underhill & F Brigham 1 N Kendall & J Sanderson 0
J H Easingwood & C K Hailey 1 V James & G Wilcox 0
  7   0

The golf club held their annual whist drive and dance at Goole Baths hall on Thursday November 17th 1938. Mrs J E Timm, wife of the captain of the club, presented the whist prizes. Miss Marion Frost, the youngest member of the club, presented Mrs Timm with a bouquet of chrysanthemums. Over 200 attended the dance, and the programme varied from the Lancers to the Lambeth Walk. Amongst those present were; Mr & Mrs J E Timm, Mr A Townsend, Mr & Mrs P H Earnshaw, Mr & Mrs N Pilling, Dr & Mrs J Crawford, Councillor & Mrs N G Silvester, Councillor R A Heptonstall, Councillor H Richardson, Captain & Mrs H Welham, Mr & Mrs C E Gorham, Mr & Mrs L A Coxon Mr & Mrs J H Easingwood Mr & Mrs E Sharpley, Mr & Mrs J Kelbrick, Mr & Mrs A Bowie, etc.