Floors Castle, Kelso, Scottish Borders.
In May 1904 it was reported in the Berwickshire News and General Advertiser that there was to be a new golf course for the Duke of Roxburgh. It was to be laid out as a private course on the Duke’s estate between Floors Castle and the river Tweed, famed for its salmon fishing. Ben Sayers, the North Berwick professional, was to direct the laying out of the course. The site was ideal, in beautiful surroundings with undulating ground presenting excellent natural hazards. At this time Kelso Town Golf Club had their course on the south side of the Tweed (they eventually moved to the racecourse) almost opposite the site planned for the Duke of Roxburgh’s links. It was expected that the Duke’s course “would be one of the most sporting in the Borderland”
At the Floors Castle course in July 1910 in a match between Mr A Leburn and Mr A C Anderson they halved all nine holes in fours. Not only good golf, but almost unique.
The postcard below showing Floors Castle from the Golf Course.