Open Search -

Like us on Facebook

Course Atlas -

Course Atlas

Please consider supporting our efforts.


Aboyne, Aberdeenshire. (1883 - 1905)

Founded 1883.

The first secretary was Mr Forgie, and the club captain Mr W E Nicol, Ballogie.

The following is from The Golfing Annual 1888/89; “Aboyne Golf Club – Instituted 1883; Entrance Fee, two shillings and sixpence; Annual Subscription, two shillings and sixpence; Membership of 24; Captain - W E Nicol, Ballogie; Committee – F Sandison, A Grant, Rev. A Gray, A G Anderson, W Ewen; Secretary – Robert Fargie, Woodbine Cottage, Aboyne. Club prizes – Nicol Cup, Sandison Medal, Monthly Handicap Medal. Prize winners in 1888 – F Sandison, 80; Rev. A Gray, 79. Lowest scratch score in a club competition is 78, made by Rev C C Macdonald in 1887.” 

Result of a match played in July 1891.


Aboyne Golf Club, Aberdeenshire. Result of a match played in July 1891.



Possible new course in September 1895.


Aboyne Golf Club, Aberdeenshire. Possible new golf course in September 1895.

Aberdeen Press and Journal Wednesday 4 September 1895. Image © THE BRITISH LIBRARY BOARD. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.


Result of the monthly handicap for September 1898, winner was C G McKenzie with a net 79.

The AGM was held in the Huntly Arms Hotel on Wednesday 26 April 1899. There was a large attendance of members, in the chair was the president Mr Sandison. The secretary, Mr J A Alcock, gave a financial statement for the year, which showed a satisfactory balance. The following officers were elected; President, Mr A F Sandison; Captain, Mr A Grant; Secretary, Mr J A Alcock; committee, Captain Ewan, Messrs Watters, Milne, Ramsay, Charles Gordon, McKenzie and Clubb. Mr McKenzie was presented with the Pickop gold medal, and a gold medal presented by Mr Sandison, was presented to Miss Ewen as winner of the ladies’ competition last year.

Winner of the McHardy handicap medal in June 1899 was John Melrose, 110-18-92.

In September 1899 the monthly scratch and handicap medals were both won by C G Mackenzie with a score of 85. Mr E T Heaven won Mr Hardy’s medal with a score of 81-6-75.  


Aboyne Golf Club, Aberdeenshire. The former golf course on the 1902 O.S map.

The former Aboyne golf course is marked in the centre of the above map. Reproduced from the {1902} Ordnance Survey Map.


The club continued at its original site until 1905; it then moved to its current location at Formaston Park.

Location of the original Aboyne Golf Club course in 1901/1902

Location of the original Aboyne course in 1901/1902. Grid reference, NO52680 98380, co-ordinates 352680 798380.