Open Search -

Like us on Facebook

Course Atlas -

Course Atlas

Please consider supporting our efforts.


Edinburgh Ladies' Golf Club, Blackford Brae. (1900 - 1920s)

First appeared in the early 1900s at South Oswald Road. It was replaced by the Astley Ainsley Institute buildings during the 1920s.

On Saturday 7th June 1902 the third competition of the season was held, result; Miss J G Broun won the scratch prize with a score of 73; Miss Whyte and Miss Watson tied for the net prize with 77.

 On Saturday 5th July 1902 the fourth competition was held, result; Miss N Rolland won the scratch prize with a score of 39+44=83; The handicap result, Miss S Dryburgh 42+42=84-10-74; Miss H White, 46+42=88-6-82; Miss A A Chalmers, 49+43=92-8-84.  

In 1902 the first Ladies’ Golf Union Coronation Medal Competition took place at the Edinburgh Ladies’ Club course at Morningside on Saturday 4th October 1902. Thirty two ball matches were to take part, the full draw and result as follows:

Mrs Drummond , Stirling (8) and Miss N Wardrop, Portobello (3); Miss J G Broun, Edinburgh (7) and Mrs D Crawford, Portobello (4); Miss J Park, Portobello (1) and Miss M F Bishop, Troon (2); Miss Adamson, Portobello (18) and Miss J Brown, Musselburgh (24); Miss Higginbotham, Stirling (8) and Miss J M Bishop, Troon (2); Miss M Longmuir, Troon (10) and Miss Aitchison, Edinburrgh (2); Mrs J M Williamson, Musselburgh (22) and Miss Logan, Stirling (25); Miss A Chalmers, Edinburgh (20) and Mrs Royburn, Stirling (18); Miss M Park, Portobello (scratch) and Miss S Drybrough, Edinburgh (12); Miss Ferguson, Edinburgh (18) and Miss Thomson, Musselburgh (16); Miss Goodfellow, Stirling (15) and Miss McCuaig, Edinburgh (20); Mrs Todd, Stirling (10) and Miss W A Robertson, Troon (6); Miss M Yellowlees, Stirling (8) and Mrs A Gilmour, Troon (7); Miss N Rolland, Edinburgh (10) and Miss Wardrop, Portobello (1); Miss G B Robertson, Troon (9) and Miss Colquhoun, Stirling (10); Miss G Syme, Edinburgh (18) and Miss McPherson, Musselburgh (22); Miss Briton, Musselburgh (18) and Mrs Stevenson, Edinburgh (25); Mrs Millar, Musselburgh (22) and Mrs Rainie, Edinburgh (19); Miss E McCankie, Musselburh (15) and Mrs Whyte, Stirling (20); Miss Bell, Stirling (7) and Miss C B Duncan, Aberdeen (11); Mrs Gerrard, Musselburgh (9) and Miss Simpson, Portobello (10); Miss Cairns, Edinburgh (16) and Mrs R H Whyte, Musselburgh (13); Miss Whyte, Stirling (8) and Miss Lugton, Edinburgh (scratch); Miss M McPherson, Musselburgh (15) and Miss Watson, Edinburgh (15); Miss Mitchell, Aberdeen (2) and Miss Stark, Edinburgh (11); Mrs Windebank, Portobello (16) and Miss N Turnbull, Edinburgh (15); Mrs Ronaldson, Edinburgh (19) and Miss D N Cotton, Edinburgh (23); Miss Wakelin, Musselburgh (11) and Mrs McCuaig, Edinburgh (8); Miss Clapperton, Musselburgh (5) and Mrs Rush, Edinburgh (9); Miss E Robertson, Troon (10) and Miss Prain, Edinburgh (7).

Under the direction of Mr Lindsay, the secretary, a start was made at 11.30. Mr W J Menzies, W.S., Captain of the Edinburgh Ladies’ Club, presented the prizes to the following; Miss Cairnes, Edinburgh won the medal with a net 60. Miss Lugton, Edinburgh won the scratch trophy with a score of 72.

On Thursday 2nd July 1903 a return mixed match (reported as a ladies' match)  was played at Craigmillar, the home team ran out easy winners, result below:

Craigmillar   Edinburgh  
Miss Paterson & Mr W G Ritchie  7 Miss Lugton & JohnTaylor 0
Miss Nicolson & Mr G H Rees 0 Miss J G Broun & Douglas Currie 2
Miss R Cownie & Mr F Ritchie 0 Miss N Rolland & Mr Rush 0
Mrs Kennedy & Mr C D O Morrison 0 Miss Chalmers & Mr H Bell Scott 1
Miss Brown & Mr J Paterson 9 Miss Ferguson & Mr J M Usher 0
Mrs Robertson & Mr Banks 9 Miss Prain & mr A Cathles 0
Miss Hamilton & Mr R Gray 2 Miss McCuaig & Mr H Inglis Lindsay 0
Miss E Cownie & Mr W Matheson 0 Miss Watson & Mr D N Cotton 2
  27   5



Edinburgh Ladies' Golf Club. Blackford Brae Ladies golf course.

Location of the Blackford Brae Ladies golf course. Grid reference NT25195 71170, co-ordinates 325195 671170