Open Search -

Like us on Facebook

Course Atlas -

Course Atlas

Please consider supporting our efforts.


Moffat Golf Club, Dumfries & Galloway. (1884 - 1904)

Club established in 1884.

It was reported in November 1884 that a club had been formed for Moffat and district. Suitable ground had been obtained on the Chapel Farm, about fifteen minutes walk from the town, and play will commence immediately. The following officers were elected; President, J J Hope Johnstone; vice-presidents, Walter Johnstone of Bodesbeck and William Tod of Heathery-haugh; captain J R Macmillan, Union Bank.

On June 6th 1885 Moffat Golf Club opened their new course. To celebrate the opening eight members competed for the Presidents medal presented by Mr Hope Johnstone of Annandale and the Captains Medal donated by Mr Walter Johnstone of Bodesbeck. The competition was won by John Duncan, rector of Moffat Abbey.


Moffat Golf Club, Dumfries & Galloway. The Golfing Annual 1888/89.

Extract from The Golfing Annual 1888/89.


The monthly competition for the Johnstone medal was played on Saturday 8th February 1890. John Duncan, Acady House was the winner.

A 13 hole handicap competition was held on the Chapel Hill course on Monday 3rd April 1893. The winner was James Salmond with a score of. 66+2-68; J Anderson, Hillside, was second, 78-8-70 and H C Pearse was third, 82-9-73.


Moffat Golf Club, Dumfries and Galloway. Location of earlier course.

Location of the former course in the early 1900s. Grid reference NT07370,05980, co-ordinates 307370,605980.



Ben Sayers designed the present 18-hole course in 1904.